Posted by: beamsofjoy | September 24, 2010

Old Fashioned Clothes

The church my husband and I have recently been attending is having Old Fashioned Day on Sunday.  I’ve searched and searched, but can find nothing appropriate to wear.  Now if they’d just said OLD clothes, I’d have a closet-full that would fit the bill.  I actually gave away an old fashioned bonnet of my late mother-in-law’s just a few weeks ago, thinking I’d never have a need for it.  All this focus on clothing has brought me to the point of asking myself, what does God want me to wear?

I found the answer in Isaiah 61:10.  The Bible says, I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He hath covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decketh himself with ornaments, and as a bride adorneth herself with her jewels.”

Thinking about the robe of righteousness made me think of the coronation robe I’d seen in photos of Queen Elizabeth on the day she was crowned, so I did some research.  Here’s what I found:

The six-yard long Robe of State is a crimson velvet mantle edged with ermine and two rows of hand-made embroidered gold lace and gold filigree work.  The robe was made by Messrs. Ede and Ravenscroft of Chancery Lane, London.  The velvet had been hand-woven by Warners of Braintree, Essex, from silk supplied by Lady Hart Dyke of Lullington Castle.

The coronation robe is recognized worldwide as the symbol of the queen’s royalty.  Our robe of righteousness should also be recognized by the world as a symbol of our relationship with the King of Kings.  Although the coronation robe was beautiful, it was not what made Elizabeth the queen.  In fact, she was not officially crowned until 16 months after she ascended to the throne upon the death of her father.  In the same way, our robe of righteousness is not what makes us a child of the King.  We become His child when we accept the garment of salvation and accept Jesus as our personal Savior.  We as His children should live lives of righteousness to honor Him, and show the world to Whom we belong.  Elizabeth wore the royal robe because she wanted to show the world she was the queen.  We should also wear our robe of righteousness to let the world know that we are eternal royalty as children of the Almighty King.

In 1 Peter, chapter 3, talking about the Christian woman, it says:  “Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; but let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.”

Someday, my Father will clothe me in fine linen.  Revelation 19:14 says “And the armies which were in Heaven followed Him upon white horses, clothed in fine linen, white and clean.”  Fine linen is quite expensive.  I recently saw one sheet advertised ON SALE for $295.  The fine linen we will wear on that glorious day was very expensive, too.  Christ paid for it with His life.

My Heavenly Father has clothed me with the garment of salvation and the robe of righteousness, and adorned me with His meek and quiet spirit.  And I have a robe of white linen awaiting me someday.  So when Sunday comes, I probably won’t be wearing old fashioned clothing on the outside.  But I WILL be clothed with old fashioned salvation, and that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

